Inter Parliamentary Union 2020 - Mauritius National Assembly

Inter-Parliamentary Union - 206th Session of its Governing Council meeting

The Inter-Parliamentary Union, the global organisation of national parliaments, conducted the 206 th Session of its Governing Council meeting through the virtual mode on Sunday 01 November 2020.

The Mauritian delegation, headed by Honourable Sooroojdev Phokeer, GCSK, GOSK, Speaker of the National Assembly, comprising Honourable Ms Teenah Jutton, Parliamentary Private Secretary and Honourable Patrick Gervais Assirvaden as voting members and Dr the Honourable Anjiv Ramdhany, Parliamentary Private Secretary as observer, participated in the virtual session which was organised in the Committee Room of the National Assembly.

The major item of business which the Governing Council was called upon to transact on Sunday 01 November 2020, was the election of the President of the Inter-Parliamentary Union which is held every three years. Candidates from the following four countries, namely, Canada, Pakistan, Portugal and Uzbekistan contested the election in replacement of the outgoing President, Ms Gabriela Cuevas Barron from Mexico.

The Mauritian delegation participated in the election and cast their vote through a digitally secured platform from a voting booth which was put in place to that effect by the National Assembly.