Honourable Members

I have a short announcement to make in connection with the incident, which occurred at the last sitting, and which led to the suspension by the House of Dr the Honourable Boolell.

The Honourable Member had engaged himself into an argument with the Chair in the course of which he made certain disparaging remarks challenging the legitimacy of the Chair, and also cast doubt on the election/character insinuating that the present holder of the office does not deserve this position.

As it has been widely reported in the press, I wish for the record to bring some light on the mode of election of the Speaker. The Speaker is elected by the House and does not have to be a Member of the National Assembly, pursuant to Section 32(1)(a)(i) of the Constitution.

In fact in 1996, an amendment was brought to the Constitution by the then Labour/MMM Government to make provision, namely Section 32(i) to provide for the mode of election of a non-elected Member as Speaker so that henceforth a non-elected Member can be elected as Speaker.

Since then the following personalities have been elected as Speaker of the National Assembly in accordance with that provision -

- Sir Ramesh Jeewoolall 1996 to 2000;
- Mr Premnath Ramnah 2000 to 2005;
- Mr Rajkeswur Purryag 2005 to 2012;
- Mr Razack Peeroo 2012 to 2014;
- Mrs Santi Bai Hanoomanjee 2014 to 2019;
 and
- The incumbent since 2019.