

147th IPU Assembly Luanda, Angola 25 -27 October 2023

Hon Sooroojdev PHOKEER, G.C.S.K, G.O.S.K, Speaker of the National Assembly, led a delegation comprising Honourable Mrs Subhasnee Luchmun Roy, MP, PPS, Honourable Patrick Assirvaden, MP, and Ms Urmeelah Devi Ramchurn, Acting Clerk, to attend the 147th IPU (Inter-Parliamentary Union) Assembly in Luanda, Angola.

The IPU Assemblies, that regroup over 180 Member Parliaments, are unique events that bring together hundreds of Speakers/Presiding Officers and parliamentarians from around the world, to discuss the urgent issues facing humanity, share experiences, build global solidarity and catalyse collective action.

The147th Assembly focused on the theme of **Parliamentary action for peace**, **justice and strong institutions (SDG 16)** and provided a platform for delegates to deliberate, exchange views and galvanize parliamentary action in this area.

On Friday 27 October 2023, the Governing Council proceeded with the election of the new President of the IPU. The Rt. Hon Dr. Tulia Ackson, Speaker of the National Assembly of Tanzania has been elected for term 2024-2026. She succeeds to H. E Mr. Duarte Pacheco from Portugal. It is a matter of pride for the African continent that the new President comes from the African Geopolitical Group.

27th October 2023 Mauritius National Assembly Parliament House Port Louis



Office of The Speaker Mauritius National Assembly







Office of The Speaker Mauritius National Assembly



