## Sitting of Tuesday 18 March 2025

## **ANNOUNCEMENT**

## Honourable Members,

I have an announcement to make with regard to the appointment of the Sessional Select Committees pursuant to Standing Order 69 of the Standing Orders and Rules of the National Assembly 1995.

With regard to the Committee of Selection, chaired by myself, I am pleased to inform the House that following consultations held with Members of the Assembly, I have today, pursuant to Standing Order 69(1)(b), nominated the following Members to serve on the said Committee –

- 1. Honourable Kuvalayan Kugan Parapen, Junior Minister of Social Integration, Social Security and National Solidarity
- 2. Honourable (Ms) Marie Genevieve Stephanie Anquetil, Government Chief Whip
- 3. Honourable Pynivel Venkatasami, Deputy Chief Government Whip
- 4. Honourable Adrien Charles Duval, Opposition Whip
- 5. Honourable Gilbert Tony Apollon
- 6. Honourable Balkrishna Babajee
- 7. Honourable Jean Francisco François
- 8. Honourable Khushal Lobine
- 9. Honourable Mohamed Reza Saumtally

The Committee of Selection will soon meet to nominate Members to serve on the following Parliamentary Committees, of course having due consideration to both Members of the Opposition and independent Member, -

- The Public Accounts Committee;
- The Standing Orders Committee;
- The House Committee;
- The Broadcasting Committee; and
- The Parliamentary Gender Caucus

Thank you.

\*\*\*\*