Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
National Assembly
National Assembly>Hon. Members>Hanoomanjee (Mrs) Santi Bai

Hanoomanjee (Mrs) Santi Bai

Hon Santi Bai HANOOMANJEE (Mrs), G.C.S.K, MP
Speaker of the National Assembly
of Mauritius
Name Santi Bai
Marital Status Married

Primary: Aryan Vedic Aided School, Vacoas

Secondary: Queen Elizabeth College, Rose Hill

Tertiary: University of Mauritius


 33 years in the civil  service – 1971 to 2005 

Retired at the highest level post in the civil service as  Permanent Secretary in  May 2005

Appointed first Chairperson of the Mauritius Revenue Authority - 2004  to May 2005

  Chairperson of the Mauritius Sugar Authority - 2001
to May 2005

Chairperson of the Sugar Planter’s Mechanical Pool Corporation – 1997 to  2004

Chairperson of the Farmers Service Commission - 1998 to 2004

Chairperson of the Tea Board - 1996 to 2004.

 Has served as Member on many other Boards of Parastatal and Government Organisations

International Exposure

Represented Mauritius in discussions at ACP-EU level regarding the Sugar Protocol issues

 Attended Lobbying missions in EU countries regarding Sugar Protocol  

 Represented Mauritius in negotiations at WTO  regarding trade issues

Attended several Summits and Conferences



 (Local level)

Member of the Mouvement Socialiste Militant from 2005 to 2014

Elected for the first time in the largest constituency of the island in July 2005

Member of Opposition in the National Assembly from

           - July 2005 to March 2010

           - July 2011 to October 2014

Nominated Member of the Public Accounts Committee by the Committee of Selection - 2005 to 2010

Elected for the second time in the same constituency in the general elections of May 2010

Minister of Health and Quality of Life - May 2010 to July 2011

Elected first woman Speaker of the National Assembly on 22 December 2014

 Chairperson of The Parliamentary Gender Caucus as from 16 March 2017


(Regional level)

President of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (Africa Region) from 14 August 2015 to 27 August 2016

 Chairperson of the Parliamentary Association of the Indian Ocean Commission since 05 May 2016

 Elected Member of the Standing Committee of Speakers and Presiding Officers of the Commonwealth - 2018


Involvement at Party Level

Chaired the Agriculture Commission from 2005 – 2010

Chaired the Agriculture and Health Commissions -  2011 to 2014

Designated Assistant Secretary General of the Mouvement Socialist Militant (MSM) party.

Executive Member of the Women’s Wing of the party



First woman to be conferred the highest distinction of the country and elevated to the rank of the Grand Commander of the Star and Key (GCSK) on 12 March 2015 for her contribution in the public service and the political and social fields


Social Work - Founder Member of The Shelter for Women and Children in Distress Trust Fund

  Keeping abreast of international political issues




Tel Office +(230) 201-2306